Home Gym Essentials

Takingbettertravelphotos

For years, I had a gym membership. I really enjoyed the group classes and the variety of equipment available but once I started working from home, I found it harder to make the gym part of my new routine. Eventually I decided that for the cost of my gym membership, I could buy equipment and transform my guest room into a guest room/gym. Sure, my guest room isn’t beautifully decorated now that it is partially a gym but I use the equipment a lot.

I love being able to squeeze in a workout between calls or after my kiddo goes to bed. It has really made things much easier for me to get a workout in when I don’t have to get in the car and actually drive to the gym.

If you don’t have a spare room that you can transform, I bet you can find another space in your house to keep some gym equipment like your garage or even a corner in your bedroom.

Since making the transition to working out from home, I’ve bought a lot of equipment. These are the pieces that I find to be the most versatile and useful.


Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.43.58 PMDumbbells:
The exercises that you can do with dumbbells is nearly endless so they justify their cost immediately. I bought a set like this. I like the versatility of a set like this without keeping a million dumbbell weights around.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.45.57 PMBarbells: This is another piece of versatile equipment that lets you do a whole slew of exercises. I bought a similar set to my barbell set and the plates are interchangeable between the two.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.48.20 PMPull Up Bar: Even if you can’t do a pull up yet (like me), a pull up bar is handy for doing leg raises, oblique curls and other exercises. There are many on the market that just go in your doorway like this one.

Jump Rope: Basic, I know but you can get an awesome cardio workout in no time with a jump rope.

Kettlebell: I really love kettlebell workouts. Although you can sometimes do similar movements with a dumbbell, some are unique to kettlebells and I really just like to change up my routine sometimes.

If you have a little more room, I also would recommend a treadmill. You can get a folding one like me and its awesome for running distance, intervals and I walk on it sometimes while I’m on conference calls. You can sometimes find them really cheap at garage sales or on Craigslist.

With these pieces of equipment and a quick google search, you should be able to come up with many different routines for yourself. I bought my equipment one piece at a time as I could and bought things used when I could. I realize that working out at home isn’t for everyone. If you find more motivation in a group class or in a gym setting then you should definite do whatever will keep you moving consistently.

Leave a Reply

